Hermitage of Our Lady of Conception

In November of 1617, Marciana Grimón donated thirty silver reales to the hermitage of the Immaculate Conception that had been built on her estates in Tigaiga.

That plain edifice was extended on various occasions and consists of a single nave with a chancel and several annexes. In the nineties of the past century it was restored in its entirety, when several stone elements were incorporated in its facade, distorting the modest character of the original building.

Among the works of art that are kept inside is the image of the name giving Immaculate Conception, an anonymous piece from the seventeenth century, as well as sculptures of Saint Joseph with baby Jesus (17th century) and Saint Anthony the Abbot (20th century). On the walls are four paintings of holy Franciscans that were brought here from the local Franciscan monastery and are attributed to Cristóbal Hernández de Quintana (1651 – 1725) and a beautiful painting of the Immaculate Conception from the early 18th century.